[SOLVED] Creating instance of another class inside a class

Dear everyone

I’ve been building small Arduino projects as a hobby for a few years now. The devices are getting more complicated and I’ve ran into a situation, where my sketches get long with a bunch of variables and functions. Thus, it starts to make sense to create classes to make projects more manageable and also expandable (I might want to add a second or third led, maybe have an additional temperature sensor and so on).

As for background, there are some great tutorials (e.g. Arduino - LibraryTutorial) for creating Arduino libraries/classes and the basics seem to be working fine. But there’s one thing, I cannot wrap my mind around and I’ve also been unable to find a clear answer on the Internet/here.

Previously I would write like this (example for controlling a heatpump with Arduino).

//Ino without class
#include <MideaHeatpumpIR.h>

IRSenderPWM irSender(9);
HeatpumpIR *heatpumpIR = new MideaHeatpumpIR();

void setup(){
 heatpumpIR->send(irSender, POWER_ON, MODE_HEAT, FAN_2, 17, VDIR_UP, HDIR_AUTO);
 delay(5000);
 heatpumpIR->send(irSender, POWER_OFF, MODE_HEAT, FAN_2, 17, VDIR_UP, HDIR_AUTO);
 delay(5000);
}
void loop(){
}

when I transfer this bit of code into a class in my ino file, I declare the variables at the beginning (to make them available to my methods) and then create an instance in the constructor. For MideaHeatPumpIR I can create a new object. But what do with IRSender? I’ve tried creating a pointer (I think that’s what it’s called and using ->) among other things but I can’t seem to get it work.

Here’s the ino file

//Ino with class

class HeatPump{
  private:
  IRSenderPWM irSender(uint8_t);
  MideaHeatpumpIR *heatpumpIR; 

public:
  uint8_t temperature;
  uint8_t IRpin;

HeatPump(uint8_t ir, uint8_t temp) { 
    IRpin = ir;
    temperature = temp;
    IRSenderPWM irSender(ir);
    heatpumpIR = new MideaHeatpumpIR();
  }

void start() {