SOLVED-DDS 1307 RTC not working on coin celland external power, works only on 5v

hi everyone
i’m new to arduino and im learning , i connected a DS1307RTC to arduino pro mini and ran the example timeset program when ever i add the coin cell to the RTC its not working , its works fine when it is powered by 5v from arduino alone i tried replacing pullup resistors to 4.7k and 10k and also replace the DS 1307 with new one nothing worked. the battery im using is CR 2025 coin cell. my RTC board also has a 24C16 eeprom on it can anyone help me on this. thanks in advance.

You'll need to explain what you mean by "not working".

My understanding is that with the coin cell the RTC is not supposed to "work" in the sense of being interrogated for the time. The coin cell's purpose is (afaik) to keep the clock operating so that it keeps the time, then when you next hook it up to 5V and interrogate it, it knows and shows the right time.

I for example have had my 1307 module disconnected from a project for some time, but with the coin cell in for some weeks, and then when I hook it back up to the project with 5V connected, the time's still correct.

Are you saying you hoped to have the RTC fully operational with the coin cell as its power?- if so I don't think that's what it's supposed to do.

But I might be misinterpreting your question.....

JimboZA: But I might be misinterpreting your question.....

You may be right, but another common newbie mistake that occurs is that they leave the part in the setup() function that sets the current time to the time of compilation. Since it executes this every time they boot up, it appears that the RTC "isn't working".

Yes Ken I wondered about that too, but going off what OP says about it working correctly with 5V, I more-or-less discounted that.