[solved]Getting started with Arduino-example 03B-help understanding transition

Hi all!

First let me say that I have googled it and also searched inside the forum. I did find one answer, but alas, to example 03C!
I’m using Linux (Mint 15) and an Arduino Uno R3. The code works and everything is fine, this is just a doubt I have!

I have some scripting experience with Actionscript, Python and Processing. what is messing with my head is the conjunction of electronics and programming, I think. I don’t know what values are being passed.
I’ll post t he code and then do my question:

// example 03B: Turn a LED on while the button is pressed
//and keep it on after it is released
//Now with new and improved formula

#define LED 13 //the pin for the led
#define BUTTON 7 //the input pin where 
                 //the pushbutton is connected

int val = 0; //val will be used to store the state of 
            //the input pin
int old_val = 0; // this variable stores the previous
                 // value of "val"
int state = 0; //0 == LED off while 1 == LED on

void setup()
{
  pinMode(LED, OUTPUT); //tell Arduino LED is an output
  pinMode(BUTTON, INPUT);//and button is an input
}

void loop()
{
  val = digitalRead(BUTTON); //read input value and store it

//check whether the input is HIGH -> button pressed
  if ((val == HIGH) && (old_val == LOW))
  {
   state = 1 - state;
  }

old_val = val; //val is now old, let's store it

if(state == 1)
  {
     digitalWrite(LED, HIGH); //turn LED on
  }
  else
  {
    digitalWrite(LED, LOW);
  }
}

So this is my doubt: At the beginning we assign 0 as the value of teh variables val and old_val. 0 I assume is understood as LOW.

When you enter in the loop() function you read the value of BUTTON to check if it is pressed or not. So, button pressed will pass a value of 1 (or HIGH) to val, right?

Then you check for a transition in the state and this is where all gets fuzzy! :wink:

if ((val == HIGH) && (old_val == LOW))
  {