[Solved] Handling megabytes of data stored in a sd card

Hello,

I am new to arduino but have a fair amount of experience in programming in general.
I have a teensy 4.1 with a SD card. In that card I have a json file (1 to 16 MB) which is basically a map, a single level of key/value pairs.
I’d like to access any value instantly (<50ms at most, <10ms ideally) by its key.
The prototype I’ve coded uses ArduinoJson to deserialize the whole document while filtering by the key.

auto error = deserializeJson(doc, file, DeserializationOption::Filter(filter));

This works fine but takes about 3 to 6 seconds to find the value since it probably needs to read the whole file.
What would be a better approach for this kind of task? I understand that JSON is not the most optimized storage format for that, but I also can’t load a map of a few MB in memory (because I do not have MBs of memory).

Any hint on a better solution to that problem is welcome.
Don’t hesitate to ask any question for more details.

Thanks in advance.

Not knowing the format of the records.....
Could You prepare a kind index file pointing into the data file?
Sometimes "a half interval" method can cut time if the records are sorted in ascending/descending order.
Using hashing technic.

because I do not have MBs of memory

Well the Teensy 4.1 can be fitted with an extra 16MBs of PSRAM.

Sounds like your trying to use a SD card like you might in Linux\Windows. I though the use of SD access in that style required a licence for the routines which is not available to Arduinos. Maybe I am mistaken .................

hedgestock:
Any hint on a better solution to that problem is welcome.

Without knowing the typical content of a record, whether they are fixed or variable length records, the order in which they are stored or the search term you want to use I can't think of anything useful to say.

It sounds like a job for a PC or a RaspberryPi

...R

Robin2: