[Solved] Hello! Noob here. I got a tft LCD screen working, but not a button!

Thank you very much for reading this.

I managed to solder and get the LCD screen working which I am very proud of haha. Now I am trying to add a button so I can move forward with my Tamagotchi-clone dream.

I have the Arduino Uni Rev2 Wifi.

I am using a simple push button and a 10k resistor.

Any help would be SO appreciated.

When I run this code it buttonState is always 0. I tried removing the button while it was looping and I got 1’s and 0’s and my screen changed. I can’t seem to trigger a HIGH state when I actually press the button though.

Here is a picture of my setup:

Here is my code:

#include <Adafruit_GFX.h>    // Core graphics library
#include <Adafruit_ST7735.h> // Hardware-specific library for ST7735
#include <SPI.h>

#define TFT_CS 10
#define TFT_RST 9
#define TFT_DC 8

#define TFT_MOSI 11 // Data out
#define TFT_SCLK 13 // Clock out
Adafruit_ST7735 tft = Adafruit_ST7735(TFT_CS, TFT_DC, TFT_MOSI, TFT_SCLK, TFT_RST);

const int buttonPin = 2;  

int buttonState = 0; 

void setup(void)
{
  Serial.begin(9600);
  Serial.print(F("Growing..."));

// Button pin
  pinMode(buttonPin, INPUT);

// Init ST7735R chip
  tft.initR(INITR_144GREENTAB);

// Set Landscape mode
  tft.setRotation(1);
  tft.fillScreen(0xF81F);

Serial.println(F("Hello World. :)"));
}

void loop() {
  buttonState = digitalRead(buttonPin);

Serial.println(buttonState);

if (buttonState == HIGH) {

tft.fillScreen(0x001F);
    tft.setCursor(10, 50);    
    tft.print("That tickles."); 

} else {

tft.fillScreen(0x07E0);
    tft.setCursor(10, 50);   
    tft.print("What is up?");

}
}

Use More -> Modify to the bottom right of your posting to alter the "tt" and "/tt" mark up to "code" and "/code" instead. :roll_eyes:

Thank you. That's much better! :grinning: