[Solved]MCP3424 function call, not sure what type of variable is needed.

Hello,

I am very new to Arduino programming and programming in general. I am having trouble discerning what variables need to be declared in order to make my code compile. The error occurs at the following line:

#include <MCP3424.h>
MCP3424 adc(PIN_LOW, PIN_FLOAT);

The error I get is as follows:

“‘PIN_LOW’ was not declared in this scope”

I examined the MCP3424.h file in order to try to figure out what variables are needed for the call, and found the following:

typedef enum { PIN_LOW, PIN_HIGH, PIN_FLOAT } PinType;

later in the code, I saw this:

MCP3424 (PinType, PinType);

Here is the link to the MCP3424.h code

If anyone can let me know how I can fix this error or how I should be declaring a variable to resolve this issue, please let me know.

I am helping a friend out by with a project that another programmer coded for them, so I did not create the code this comes from.

Did you also get an error for PIN_FLOAT ?
If not, it looks like you may have a library mismatch. Did you look in the library folder within the sketches folder to verify that the correct version of the MCP3424 library is installed ?

The other thing you can try is copy the library (.h and .cpp files) into the same folder as the current .ino file and change #include <MCP3424.h> to #include “MCP3424.h” (in both the .ino and the .cpp file) so the local copy of the library is used.

6v6gt:
Did you also get an error for PIN_FLOAT ?
If not, it looks like you may have a library mismatch. Did you look in the library folder within the sketches folder to verify that the correct version of the MCP3424 library is installed ?

The other thing you can try is copy the library (.h and .cpp files) into the same folder as the current .ino file and change #include <MCP3424.h> to #include “MCP3424.h” (in both the .ino and the .cpp file) so the local copy of the library is used.

I appreciate the response.