[SOLVED] MOSFET-P first use :) OR Relay

Hello, I am building a robot that i can leave at my house and control over the internet. The robot works and i am focusing on the home station now. I am working incrementally to understand what i do because i am quite new to electronic.

Today the goal is that when the robot is connected to the home station, the Arduino and motors get power from the home station and not the nimh battery (lipo on my diagram -_-). Here is the diagram of my robot ( i didn't draw servo / ipod 5v alimentation that is of no interest here)

|500x233

Here are my question :

1) Contrary to the diagram, i think q1 component should be a MOSFET-P, right? [EDIT] fixed 2) How to choose this MOSFET-P? It should cut of when 12v is applied. and close the battery circuit when there is 0v 3)Because it will create a sudden change in tension, shouldn't i have a condo (how to choose the size) after it? Maybe just put the 10uf after it instead of before? 4)I think i must put a resistor on the gate of the mosfet, if so, why and how to choose it?

Last but not least, for information after i made this, when i am connected to home, i will start a nimh recharge circuit on the battery.

Please be indulgent, i was not very active in my electronic class :(

[EDIT] given the message below, maybe te SPDT relay is a better choice for my circuit

A good example of this kind of circuit is in the Arduino itself. It selects USB power or external power depending on which one is higher. The Due has a particularly good example because it has 2 USB ports to work with. Open up the Arduino schematics and have a look.

An N type MOSFET looks right. You want it to be "on" when the 12V input is low, don't you? You might have source and drain backwards there try to redraw the schematic without that line crossing on top of the transistor symbol.