[Solved] Need 'quick' light measurements over Serial or external RAM?

Hey there, so I am relatively new to Arduino and electronics in general. I have a data handling/transfer issue. Here's the short and skinny.

I am using an amplified photodiode on an analog pin. Getting some nice clean values which represent 'intensity' I suppose. The issue is this, I want to collect these measurements everytime I recieve a signal on a digital pin(say a HIGH). Then worse yet, I want to either transfer or record these values. So I have come up with two schemes for doing this...

Scheme 1:
Attach an interrupt for the digital signal. Use a quick if statement to see if the signal is 'high'. Perform an analogRead? Then transfer this information perhaps in chunks over the serial? Running into problems with this. It is obviously pretty poor practice to use an analogread in an interrupt and then follow it by a serial.write (sending two bytes). Well it's not working atleast. Program won't even execute the interrupt. So I am wondering if I am going about this the wrong way, is there a 'smarter' way to program this? For example, could I use the ADC clock and have these two operations slightly out of sync but close enough. Ideally at about 700signals a second (0.0015 seconds per signal)? Where a signal is I suppose two bytes. Or is that simply too fast to be possible while passing the data down Serial?

The other scheme is less involved for what must be happening simultaneously.

Scheme 2: