[Solved]Problem getting outputs for I2C I/O Port Expander using PCA9538

I’m having problem getting the outputs.

My A1 is connected to the ground and A0 is connected to 3.3V power. I know the two I2C lines are 5V. Could that be the cause for not getting the output?

I’m new to this. Can someone please take a look at the code for me and tell me if anything is wrong?

Thank you.

Here is the data sheet for the PCA9538: http://www.nxp.com/documents/data_sheet/PCA9538.pdf

#include <Wire.h>

#define U1_ADDR 0x71  // part address is 1110001
#define U2_ADDR 0x70  // part address is 1110000

void setup()
{
  Serial.begin(9600);
  Wire.begin();  // join i2c bus
  Wire.beginTransmission(U1_ADDR);
  Wire.write(0x03);  // Command byte
  Wire.write(0x00);  // Output pin 00000000
  Wire.endTransmission();
}

void binaryCount()
{
  for (byte a=0; a<256; a++)
  {
    Wire.write(0x01); // Command Byte Output Port
    Wire.write(a); // Data to port
    Wire.endTransmission();
  }
}

void loop()
{
  binaryCount();
  delay(500);
}

From the datasheet:

Operating power supply voltage range of 2.3 V to 5.5 V (3.0 V to 5.5 V for PCA9538PW/Q900)

You may operate the PCA9538 with 5V. Do you use 3V3? If yes, why? Please post your schematics.

You don't check for the return value of Wire.endTransmission() so you don't know if the data was sent/received to/by the chip.

How do you check for the outputs to go high/low? Do you use a scope? The binaryCount() routine will end in about 0.01s. Don't expect that to see visually (LEDs).

Thank you for your replay. I have the schematics attached.

pylon:
You don’t check for the return value of Wire.endTransmission() so you don’t know if the data was sent/received to/by the chip.

I also wrote a code like this which checks the sent/received value. It’s similar to the code you wrote for another post.

void loop()
{
  IOWrite(0,0);  // IO0
  delay(100);  
  IOWrite(1,0);  // IO1
  delay(100);  
  IOWrite(2,0);  // IO2
  delay(100);