[SOLVED] proximity_to_brightness _using_multiple_sensors

Hello there!

This is my first post here, as I am new to Arduino. My programming skills are base-level and i could really use some help building the code for my first project.

So, my project is an interacive art installation, where the viewer's dinstance from a light source(high powered led) will be sensed and accordingly the brightness of the LED will change. (the closer the viewer will be, the more bright the led will become).

Because I want 360 degrees sensing, i thought of using multiple ultrasonic sensors (12 or more) and try to adjust the New Ping code (15 sensors example Arduino Playground - NewPing Library ) according to my needs.

So far I have adjusted and tried the code with 3 sensors and I get some results (but not the ones I want). With the code as it is right now the result i get is that the led will dim or brighten only according to the values sent from the last sensor in line(sensor 2) , while the other two(sensor 0, 1) are ignored.

What i would ideally want the code to do is find which is the smallest distance it gets from all the sensors (except from 0cm because this is the value it gets when it receives no signal at all) and change the brightness of the led accordingly. I have tried some things myself but they failed, i think it exceeds my programming skills...

Furthermore, because i want the dimming to be smooth, i have to find a way to somehow merge some smoothing code to avoid noise and false readings(maybe this one http://arduino.cc/en/Tutorial/Smoothing or this method from the new ping library sonar.ping_median(iterations); - Do multiple pings (default=5), discard out of range pings and return median in microseconds -) .

Also I thought of using a low-pass filter to smoothen the pwm signal (before reaching the dim pin of the dimmable led driver).

Any ideas or suggestions on this would be also really appreciated.

Thanks in advance!!

I will now post the code here