Solved: Serial Port Connection Time on Arduino 101

Hello,

This is my first post here. I hope this isn't too simple a question. I did search the Forums but couldn't find the right search terms to hit on a similar topic.

I am porting a design from a PIC to an Arduino 101. I am new at Arduino and its IDE but not new to embedded programming or electronics.

I have noticed that the Arduino seems to be rather slow at starting up the Serial connection (at least on the 101 I am using). Upon compiling and uploading the Sketch, the IDE shows a message that says "SUCCESS: Sketch will execute in about 5 seconds." I have found that I often have to wait 15 seconds or more before opening the Serial Monitor to talk to my project.

If I don't wait long enough and try to open the Serial Monitor, I get the message "Board at COM5 is not available". Once I get that message, no further tries at opening the Monitor are successful. I have to either hit the Reset switch on the 101 and wait for 15 seconds or so before trying again or else re-upload the Sketch and wait a bit to try again.

Is this normal behavior for all Adruino boards or is it specific to the Arduino 101? (Perhaps the 101 takes a bit longer to initialize the x86 core in the Curie before the AVR Sketch can run. :confused: ) Maybe other Arduino boards do start up within the 5 second time-frame indicated by the IDE message.

Are there any configuration options that can make the start-up more consistent? Sometimes, even 15 seconds isn't enough time to get a clean start-up of the Serial Monitor.

Any help in understanding the seemingly long delay I am seeing would be appreciated. It's not really a major problem -- just a curious nuisance at the moment.

Best Regards,
John

This may or may not work but if you have any antivirus or other anti malware software then I have found my times for compile and serial etc to be improved by adding the Arduino items to the exclusion lists of such software.