[SOLVED] So I took my Roomba apart, not getting the results I expected...

As the subject line says, I completely disassembled my Roomba. I carefully documented all of the connections, and feel pretty comfortable I know what's what, and how it all plugs back into the motherboard.

Now, I'll go back to the start...which was a working Roomba and an Arduino Uno telling it what to do via the SCI port. Cool, I thought. I have a Roomba that is controlled by my Arduino. Next step was to start adding some of my own sensors to the mix, but I decided that before I go there, I would take apart the Roomba and re-build it (minimally) on a new chassis...so it didn't look like a round Roomba anymore.

After I put it all together, I hooked up the two wheels, the three wheel "picked up" switches (and taped them closed), reconnected the battery bay (and battery), the speaker, and the power button/light assembly.

I was thinking this would be enough to get the Roomba to function (basic) as it did in the round chassis. But, when I reconnect the Arduino and power it...I just get a single Beep from my Roomba parts...with no action from the wheel motors. I have a simple sketch that simply calls goForward() after the wake-up procedure.

Because everything worked fine before, my assumption is there must be certain things plugged into the motherboard and in a certain state before it will work again. For instance, I found in earlier testing that if you pick up the Roomba when running, it will stop (even with the Arduino in control). That tells me that there are some built-in sensor dependencies with the Roomba motherboard. I taped the three wheel sensor switches closed, but that didn't help.

Has anyone been through this? Am I going to have to reattach every single sensor and set it to a condition that matches "normal"? Is there a way around (other than not using the motherboard)?

I figured I could cheat a little, but so far it's giving me a run for my time.

Thanks in advance for the help!