[SOLVED] Struggling with Majenko's ICSC Library, Pointers, and Arrays

I'm trying to get the hang for majenko's ICSC library. I'm not a very experienced programmer and I am still learning how to handle pointers and arrays. If anyone could explain to me what I'm doing wrong here that would be much appreciated.

Right now I have a setup with two Arduinos and am trying to do this: 

- take a 10bit analog read value on Arduino1(master), 
- split it up into two pieces so it can fit into the char array for ICSC.send
- send the data to Arduino2(slave)
- Recombine the data on Arduino2 to get the original 10bit ADC value
- use that value to set the blink frequency of an LED on Arduino 2

I seem to consistently only get the first 7 bits of the ADC value on Arduino2, so there seems to be either a problem with how I'm trying to read the data in the array on Arduino2, or how I am storing data the data in the array on Arduino1. 

Master Code:
#include <ICSC.h>
uint16_t AnalogValue;
char datastream[2];

void setup()
{
  ICSC.begin(1, 115200); // assign device ID 1, baudrate
}

void loop()
{
 AnalogValue = analogRead(A0);
 datastream[0] = (char) AnalogValue & 0xff;
 datastream[1] = (char) AnalogValue >> 8;
 ICSC.send(2, 'F', 2, (char *)&datastream);
}

Slave Code:

#include <ICSC.h>
uint16_t blinktime = 300; // default blink frequency: 500ms
boolean led; // LED status on/off

void setup()
{
  ICSC.begin(2, 115200); // assign device ID 2, baudrate
  ICSC.registerCommand('F', &frequency); // command F deferrs to the frequency function
  pinMode(13, OUTPUT); // Pin 13 is our
  digitalWrite(13, LOW);
}

void loop()
{
  ICSC.process(); // listen for commands
  digitalWrite(13, led); // enforce led status
  led = !led; // change led status for next cycle
  delay(blinktime); // wait for <blinktime> amount of milliseconds
}

void frequency(unsigned char src, char command, unsigned char len, char *data)
{
 uint16_t value1 = (uint16_t) *(data);
 uint16_t value2 = (uint16_t) *(data+1);