[Solved] u8g Workaround for u8g picture loop?

Hi all, this is my first time using this forum so go easy, please.

I have an engineering capstone project for school, and I am making an instrument cluster for a vehicle that also logs data (the recording toggles on/off). I am using one 128*64 graphic LCD with an ST7920 backpack with the u8g library (also the Mega). When running, this device is supposed to log data and display it simultaneously (or..close to. I expect the LCD to lag a bit). Everything works very well, but I have a problem:

The arduino is supposed to write data to the SD card every 70ms, but the main loop of the program waits for the do..while picture loop (the one which displays the data on the LCD) to finish, causing the SD logging to lag significantly. While waiting for the picture loop to finish, the average save time between entries is 220-290ms. Now, the LCD does not have to update every 100ms. The fastest I expect it to update is around 2-3 times per second.

Now the way I see it, there are two ways around this:

1. Decrease picture loop time: The only way I can think to this is to connect the LCD in parallel mode instead of over SPI. I feel like the parallel connection would be faster, but I'm not sure because I have not had any experience comparing the two. Would it help? This also brings up another issue I've had:

a.How do I wire the ST7920 in parallel? I have followed a guide online as well as the helloworld example in the u8g library with the wiring perfect, and the display turns off (it also turns the arduino off and disconnects it from my computer) when the switch is flipped to PSB_ON (LPT). Does anyone have any knowledge or suggestions about this they are willing to share? I just cant get the damn thing to work in parallel mode, nor have I been able to find a hookup guide to use the LCD without a backpack.