some advise please. multiple timed outputs

hi there,
absolute beginner to arduino systems so the question is probably a no-brainer/dumb one for most of you.
But im needing to build a device that will turn 4 to 5 relays on and off over a 1 minute cycle and loop/repeat.
so for example relay 1 may need to come on for 5 seconds, off for 15, on to 2 sec off for 10sec etc etc … but at the same time relays 2,3,4 need to be able to turn on and off at different sequences and timing over that same 1 minute window.

so i’ve done a little timeline drawing to hopefully clarify the type of thing i want to achieve.

i wasnt sure on the limitation of arduino or whether i had to go down the more complex raspberry pi road :frowning:

Possibly a problem with your secret code. :) Please see topic #7 here: http://arduino.cc/forum/index.php/topic,148850.0.html

This can easily be accomplished using an Arduino. I would not recommend using a Raspberry Pi for this particular application.

There are many ways to use a clock.

Most of use use the one that re-sets to zero twice a day. Some use a stop-watch to count up in time other use a kitchen timer to count down in time

millis() is the system clock Blink-Without-Delay or BWD is the basic way of counting with time by using millis()

one variation of BWD is :

loop { if (then >= 60000) { //this will allow the clock to count up to one minute , then reset then – millis() }

duration = then – millis() ; // this is run every loop

if (duration > 1000 ) { relay1_status=1 ; } // sets the flag if over 1 second if (duration > 3000 ) { relay1_status=0 ; } // sets the flay if over 3 seconds

if (duration > 1500 ) { relay2_status=1 ; } if (duration > 5000 ) { relay2_status=1 ; }

// other stuff goes here

digitalWrite(relay1, relay1_status) ; digitalWrite(relay2, relay2_status) ; } // end of loop