Some doubts (3rd party hardware, compatible hardware) (newbie)

Hi,

I'm completely new to this, and since I dont wanna burn/break something I decided to start be part of community so I could learn more and maybe in the future be able to help others too. I'm a programmer, but new to electronics, so I lack the hardware skills. This things fascinates me and I'm trying to get into this scene.

I wanna purchase some sensors, that are Arduino compatible, but my doubt is.. can I use libraries with them after ? because for what I readed in this website, we can install 3rd party hardware but... if the hardware doesnt come with drivers/library, what we can do ? use a 'generic' one ? could work ? Should I try get only Arduino products ?

If I connect the board via usb, to a usb charger adapter (so I can have it plugged in the wall) instead of using the pc.. could burn it ? Should I be carefull with something else ?

Model: Arduino Leonardo

Thanks in advance.

There is an over reliance on libaries which leads to attitudes like yours.
All these are are code some one has written. There is nothing to stop you writing this code yourself.

biscottoesse:
Hi,

I'm completely new to this, and since I dont wanna burn/break something I decided to start be part of community so I could learn more and maybe in the future be able to help others too. I'm a programmer, but new to electronics, so I lack the hardware skills. This things fascinates me and I'm trying to get into this scene.

I wanna purchase some sensors, that are Arduino compatible, but my doubt is.. can I use libraries with them after ? because for what I readed in this website, we can install 3rd party hardware but... if the hardware doesnt come with drivers/library, what we can do ? use a 'generic' one ? could work ? Should I try get only Arduino products ?

In general 5V sensors of all kinds should work with a 5V Arduino - the limitations
are things like power consumption (some devices may require more power than the