Some general electronic questions

I am a beginner and I have a few questions that a beginner might have. So here goes my questions:

1. What are operational-amplifiers? How do they work and can you give me examples of a few common ones?

2. What is GSM and what is GPRS in simple words (Wikipedia is complex) ? What is the difference between them and GPS?

3. When I was reading about 74HC595 Shift Register I found a term very commonly used: "Daisy Chain" What is that?

4. What is ADC and DAC on a Microcontroller? Also What are bits in those pins (for e.g. 8 bit ADC, 10 bit ADC etc)

5. What is RTC IC and how to use it with my Arduino?

I have a question not from this category but please answer this: Should I consider buying the 5V 16MHz or the 3.3V 8MHz Arduino Pro mini. What are the differences between those two? Also, would a CH340G Breakout board work with the Pro Mini or should I buy the FTDI only?

I also have other questions, but I forgot them :slightly_frowning_face:. When I remember, I'll ask them in this post.

Regards.

Is Google broken again?

I hate it when that happens.

Feels like homework to me…

Starter for ten - daisy chain -number of daisies linked together , term can be applied to other things I suspect …discuss.image

Ok,ok. I'll search in Google. No more fun of me here.

At least answer the Pro MIni question...

Depends on what you want to do , so impossible to answer your final question about which device to buy . While you’ve got Google fired up , you can look at spec of each device and decide what you want . ( cf “ horses for courses”)

IMO … If you are starting out buy a genuine UNO from this site .

One is 5V 16MHz and the other 3.3V 8MHz … :cold_face: :innocent:

The one you buy depends on the needs…

I'll take a shot a couple of these...