some general questions about Arduino prototyping

Hi,

I have never worked with Arduino before and wanted to clarify few points. I'd appreciate it if you could help me.

Question 1:
I understand once you are done with your prototyping and want to move to actual micro-controller, you can install Arduino bootloader onto the micro-controller chip and then burn the program you previously wrote in Arduino IDE, as is shown in this video.

Can you use the Arduino shields with the micro-controller directly without any additional interface circuitry?

Question 2:
This web page says, "Shields for Arduino typically use the Arduino Uno R3 footprint."

Is the statement generally true?

Would it mean that a shied which has been designed for Arduino Mega cannot be used with Arduino Uno?

Thank you!

Can you use the Arduino shields with the micro-controller directly without any additional interface circuitry?

Shields plug directly into the Arduino board, usually a Uno or Mega so, by definition, you do not need any additional interface circuitry. If you are intending to use shields with a standalone micro controller than you will, of course, need to provide the same footprint of sockets as the Uno/Mega if you want to plug the shield into your hardware. However, do not confuse shields, which plug in directly, with modules that use connecting wires.

"Shields for Arduino typically use the Arduino Uno R3 footprint."
Is the statement generally true?

Yes

Would it mean that a shied which has been designed for Arduino Mega cannot be used with Arduino Uno?

The Mega has extra pins and there may be shields that use some of them. If so, they would not work with the Uno

painterguy:

If you want to use a shield then the simplest thing is to use it with the Arduino board it is designed for. I can't see any advantage in building your own micro-controller if you need to use a shield.