Some help with resistors

Hello

I got the duemilanove board for xmas and its been alot of fun. I'm a software design student however my electrical knowledge is pretty poor.My issue is resistors.

I was doing the "Control your Arduino using an Infrared Remote and the IK38khz sensor Tutorial" I connected a 10kOhm resistor. Im not 100% sure about resistance but I expected it to fail. It did work however, and after pressing the on button on my remote, my green LED turned on. Some tutorials online hinted at using only a 220ohm resistor.

My first question is what resistor should I be using. Also I was expecting my 10kOhm resistor to stop the flow of electricity. Why didn't it ?

Thank you.

Also I was expecting my 10kOhm resistor to stop the flow of electricity. Why didn't it ?

What do you mean by stop? If 10kOhm could stop all electricity, why would higher values of resistors exist?

Resistors, slow current. They "resist" it. If they stopped current, they would be called Stopistors. (or Switches.)

Again, I'm sorry but my knowledge on electricity is quite poor :) . In my mind, resistance is opposing the flow of electrons. If resistance would be very high and the Intensity of Current would be very low, wouldn't there be no flow of electrons ?

Well I googled for http://www.fabiobiondi.com/blog/2009/11/control-your-arduino-using-an-infrared-remote-and-the-ik38khz-sensor/ . If that is the project you are talking about, I can't find a wiring drawing in the page and the picture quality is not good enough to tell what is going on. If your question is how do you properly size a series current limiting resistor for an LED, then maybe I can help a little.