Some "Meta" questions for how to learn Arduinos

Hi Everyone!

I am a brand new user to Arduinos in general and I am hoping that some knowledgeable people, like yourselves, could help answer some questions before I dive into learning all there is to know.
Before you direct me to the Leaning and Getting Started section on this website, I am aware of this section and I will definitely be using that primarily and I hope that the responses to this post will help aid what is already posted.

Before we get started, just to give you an idea of my experience level, I am a college student with basic/intermediate knowledge of computer programming and electronics (I have taken physics and C++ classes) so I have an understanding of some topics.

Ok here goes, Feel free to answer as terse or as detailed as you’d like, anything and everything helps!

-What are the biggest mistakes you see in teaching of PLCs?

-What are the hardest parts of PLC coding/setup?

-What are reasons that others have failed or have had trouble learning concepts/code/setup?

-What are the 20% of code fundamentals that will allow for me to understand 80% of code?

-Does anyone have any recommendations for a sequence on how to begin learning and progress into more difficult and complex things?

-What are some things that are not critically important?

-At the expert level, what mistakes are most common?

-What are some key principles for better code/setup/etc. ?

First lesson : Arduino no PLC is

What are the biggest mistakes you see in teaching of PLCs
people not doing their requirements and design first

What are reasons that others have failed or have had trouble learning concepts/code/setup?
accuracy (lack of)

What are the 20% of code fundamentals that will allow for me to understand 80% of code?
assignment, iteration, condition, function, datatypes,

At the expert level, what mistakes are most common?
stupid ones

What are some things that are not critically important?
you must read Dilbert more