Some noob questions :D

Hello everyone!

I am a game developer, programmer, and musician. I stumbled on this site when I had the idea of fusing my programming and music, and had a few questions I was wondering you could answer

So I am more on the software side of things, but I am able to decipher (most of) the circuit diagrams presented. However, when it comes to what I can connect to them I am at a loss

The first question I have is this. I want to connect a series of led lights to a costume. I wish to use one of these Arduino boards to program it to react to particular inputs. So first thing would be a question regarding outputting and powering these lights...

Say I want each color strand to be controlled separately, would there be a way to connect the Arduino unit to perhaps a basic on/off power switch that powers all the lights of that color? What type of lights should I purchase for such a thing(keep in mind I would also like control of the intensity of the lights, so I imagine the simple on/off wouldn't work). Also regarding the safety of this, I would imagine it would be a good idea to make the costume relatively think and something non-conductive haha. Last thing I'd want is a performer getting electrocuted :P

Second question is this, would there be a way to receive the data of say the output level of a standard 1/4" guitar cable? For example, say I am only interested in the output level.

Third question, for tracking motion is there a preferred (affordable) sensor for this? I would simply need it to begin adding and subtracting from x, y and z variables once activated (the activation point would be the "center")

I hope that wasn't too much. I was just very excited to find this device and am interesting in understanding what it is and isn't capable of doing. Thanks so much everyone. I'm sure I'll be on these forums quite a bit. Seems a whole new hobby has opened up for me tonight :)