Some questions about Arduino Mini

Hello guys,

I am new to Arduino, I am working on a project about Arduino mini right now.

The project is about convert the Arduino Mini board into a paper(printed photo paper with ink), that means I need to redesign the whole board (Such as change the component into a bigger size and to make it easier for soldering)

Now I got some questions.

1, As I redesigned the board, I switched all the component (Ordered new from internet) including the Atmega 328.

I just wonder, finally if I finished the soldering the circuit. Do I need to install any firmware (Like BIOS in PC) to set up? If so, which file do I need to install? and how can I install?

1. As I found in original eagle file of arduino mini, it includes a crystal with four pins(x2 16MHz), but the pads are under the crystal, so that it is very difficult to solering. As a result, my supervisor suggest me to change into another package, but recently i can only find one (package hc49s) in stock, but it has two pins. That means I am not able to connect the crystal into ground.

Will it effect my testing if I do not connect the crystal into GND ?

Sorry that I have a lot of questions.

Hope anyone who knows it can give some tips to me, thanks in advance!

2pins.bmp (191 KB)

4pins.bmp (169 KB)

Do you have a schematic of your setup?

I just wonder, finally if I finished the soldering the circuit. Do I need to install any firmware (Like BIOS in PC) to set up?

It depends on your setup. How will you program the '328? ICSP?

As I found in original eagle file of arduino mini, it includes a crystal with four pins(x2 16MHz), but the pads are under the crystal, so that it is very difficult to solering. As a result, my supervisor suggest me to change into another package, but recently i can only find one (package hc49s) in stock, but it has two pins. That means I am not able to connect the crystal into ground.