Some questions I had on my project.

Hello,

I’m a student industrial engineering (electro mechanics) who has to design a measurement device as a Masterproject. This project is actually better suited for engineers in electronics so I’m totally new with ardruino and the the technique. So in my project I have to measure the distance between a turbine blade and the housing of the turbine when the turbine is spinning with a low speed. I wanted my machine to sent the data to a Smartphone by using a bluetooth connection. In the Smartphone we will make an app to get the average distance, maximum distance, etc. We are using a linear inductive sensor because this is the only one who can do our job in the right conditions. A linear inductive sensor has an analog voltage output from 0 to 10V. I wanted my arduino board to change this data in millimeters and sent this data to a Smartphone. Our accuracy has to be 0.05mm. I know this is possible because I already saw some examples, but I actually still have some questions about this project.

• The blue tooth board has a 115200 baud rate. One analog number has a size of 10 bits which has to be sent from the arduino board to the Smartphone. The 10 bits packages have to start and end with a start and stop-code, so I’m guessing a package of 14 bits will do. So actually if these approximations are correct I can sent the numbers with a speed of 115200/14= 8228 analog numbers per second. Is this correct? I can imagine that the connection with the Smartphone has a lower baud rate, or does this only depend from the board? I have to be able to sent a analog number (in mm) every 0,02 seconds.