Some questions to Nick Gammon's Temperature and Humidity Logger

Hi guys,

first of all - many thanks to Nick Gammon for his nice tutorials and idears.

I'm currently working on a temperature/humidity logger I'd like to use for some environmental monitoring.

I use Nick's Guide (Gammon Forum : Electronics : Microprocessors : Temperature and humidity sensor - battery powered) as a starting-point and I am currently working just to get the Atmega328P (with 16 Mhz on 5V) working with a DS3231 RTC module powered by Nick's suggested MOSFET-powerlane.

So far I got it working. But there are some point's which are not quite logic for me.

To my background: I am a biologist - new to electronics. I have some python programming skills but just started looking into arduino-C.

First - "my" code so far:

#include <avr/sleep.h>
#include <avr/wdt.h>

#include <Wire.h>
#include "Sodaq_DS3231.h"

const byte LED = 2;
const byte P = 7;

void poweroff ()
{  
  // put all digital pins into low stats
  for (byte pin = 0; pin < 14; pin++)
    {
    digitalWrite (pin, LOW);
    pinMode (pin, OUTPUT);  
    }
  // except the power pin which has to be high    
  digitalWrite (P, HIGH);  // turn power OFF
  }  // end of powerOffPeripherals

void poweron ()
  // power MOSFET - initially off
  {
  digitalWrite (P, LOW);
  pinMode      (P, INPUT);
  }

void flash ()
  {
  pinMode (LED, OUTPUT);
  for (byte i = 0; i < 10; i++)
    {
    digitalWrite (LED, HIGH);
    delay (50);
    digitalWrite (LED, LOW);
    delay (50);
    }

pinMode (LED, INPUT);

}  // end of flash

// Real Time Clock

DateTime now;
byte lastMinute = 99;

boolean powerOnRTC ()
  {
  Wire.begin();
  rtc.begin();
  flash ();
  delay (2);

Wire.read ();

}  // powerOnRTC

void powerOffRTC ()
  {
  // turn off I2C
  TWCR &= ~(bit(TWEN) | bit(TWIE) | bit(TWEA));

// turn off I2C pull-ups
  digitalWrite (A4, LOW);
  digitalWrite (A5, LOW);
  }  // powerOffRTC

boolean getTime ()
  {
  powerOnRTC ();

now = rtc.now();