Some really basic questions on circuit boards

I am completely new to circuit boards, Arduino etc, and can’t figure out a few basic things.

1. Why is the CPU always in the middle of the breadboard. Can you put it in the corner? Because if I wanted to build a really small breadboard device, having to put the CPU in the middle of 2 connected breadboards with long wires connecting everything, would be a huge waste of real estate space.

2. Is it possible to build a simple vibrator device, using nothing other than a battery, a sensor-based switch, and then a vibrator, simply connected together with wires, and no breadboard or CPU? Can I just simply wire or solder these components together and then the vibrator will only vibrate when, say, there is a certain amount of light picked up by the light sensor switch in between the battery and vibrator? And the entire thing keeps running indefinitely until the battery runs out of juice?

3. What is the difference between these sticky-out style GPIO pins seen on a Arduino Nano or Raspberry Pi 3, and between the hole pins seen on a LilyPad e-textiles device? In other words, can you connect any sensor, haptic vibrator etc, to either a sticky-out GPIO pin, or a hole-style LilyPad connector, or solder it? Or are some devices specifically for one type of PIN or the other? So let’s say I wanted to build the same thing as I said above, with the battery, the light-based switch and the vibrator. Could I plug that into either a sticky-out style GPIO, or a breadboard style hole, or sew it into a LilyPad style hole, and it all work the same in all of these cases, so long as the amps and voltage were the right numbers?

4. What happens if salt gets into a circuit board, breadboard, connecting wire etc? Would this short circuit or otherwise stop the thing from working? If so, is there any way to coat the components to stop any damage from salt?

Basically I am trying to build something really compact and all of these boards seem too big.