Some strange behaviour on a condition statement

Hi,

I’m new to the Arduino world but not new to embedded systems programming.

I’m building a simple metronome using a Mega 2560 and I’m using a 470K potential resistor attached to an analogue input to change the tempo. The set tempo is displayed on 3 7 segment LEDs. I’ve had to add some debounce code to avoid the pot bouncing between readings. The idea being that the pot reading has to remain stable for a certain period before it’s reported as a new value, or the pot reading has to be greater than a debounce amount to identify if the user is turning the dial around (otherwise they would not see the tempo increasing on the led until they stop turning the dial).

I’ve written my code so the loop() calls get_pot_bpm() and updates the 7 seg LED on each iteration.

For some unexplainable reason my condition to check if the difference in the old reported reading and the new reading is greater than the debounce amount doesn’t work…until a slight delay is put in! In the case below I’ve inserted a delay(10). Without the delay() it won’t work. I’ve tried adding some serial output to debug the code but with the debug it also works - because it adds a delay. I’ve also unit tested the function in XCode and I can’t see anything wrong in the fundamental code.

Any ideas would be appreciated please :slight_smile:

#define POT_DEBOUNCE_PERIOD 10
#define POT_DEBOUNCE_AMOUNT 2
#define MAX(a,b) (a>b?a:b)
#define MIN(a,b) (a<b?a:b)

unsigned int get_pot_bpm()
{
unsigned int current_reading = analogRead(POT_PIN);
static unsigned int last_reading = 0;
unsigned long current_millis = millis();
static unsigned int reported_reading = 0;
static boolean debouncing = FALSE;
static unsigned long debounce_start_millis = 0;

/* If current_reading is different to last_reading, it either needs to stay
static for the debounce period or exceed the debounce amount to be reported /
if (current_reading != last_reading)
{
/