sound capturing with MAX9814 module

Hello everyone,

I am trying to analyse sounds with arduino mega 2560.
I am using as an input this module http://www.adafruit.com/datasheets/MAX9814.pdf
It work just fine with leds as outputs, doing simple things, like turning the led on when sound is detected but i am trying to complicate things a little bit.
For example i am trying to capture only loud sounds and make the output reactive after a ceratin loudness threshold is reached.
I am new to electronics, and i appreciate any suggestions at all about how approach should i give to my project.

my questions are:

How do i set the threshold in dB?
What Vref should i use?
How cand i find what are microphone's limitations?

Thank you

It work just fine with leds as outputs, doing simple things, like turning the led on when sound is detected but i am trying to complicate things a little bit.
For example i am trying to capture only loud sounds and make the output reactive after a ceratin loudness threshold is reached.

If you're getting an LED to come-on at some threshold, it seems like you're already there. Are you using a if-statement to turn on the LED at some sound threshold?

You are going to "capture" all sounds, but you can ignore quiet sounds.

How do i set the threshold in dB?

Of course, you'll have to disable the automatic gain control feature in that preamp chip. :wink: I assume you can do that.

Practically speaking, you'll need to get an SPL meter, make some measurements, and calibrate it yourself. There's nothing tricky about the "measurements". Just send the ADC count to your serial monitor at a known SPL level and make note of it.