Sound Input

So I've recently become very interested in electronics and all the gadgets you can put together, but I'm still very new to it. Since most of you are far more experienced than me, I was hoping to pluck your brain.

Essentially what I want is to use sound channels as input, such as 7.1 surround sound and based on the channel output power. Additionally if possible vary the power output based on the intensity of the sound.

Generally I just want any direction on if this is possible, if ARDUINO can do this and any links to helpful information that can guide me. I'm an engineering student, so I'm not afraid to dive right in to technical information

Any guidance on this would be really appreciated
thanks in advance.

and based on the channel output power.

Do what? How do you intend to measure power?

I suggest you pass the inputs to your surround sound amplifier through logarithmic digital potentiometer integrated circuits which are controlled by your Arduino.

At least initially, I would pass the signal from one channel through a precision rectifier. It's also possible to get full-wave rectification. You could sample the output from the rectifier using an analogue input to your Arduino (making sure the voltage cannot exceed the Arduino chip's Vcc supply voltage). Alternatively smooth the voltage with a resistor/capacitor network (preferably avoiding any significant load on the rectifier circuit) before sampling with your Arduino. However if you smooth the voltage you will lose the opportunity to calculate the short-term "power".

Of course you can monitor more than one channel with your Arduino if you wish (but note how many analogue inputs your Arduino has). You could use operational amplifiers to sum the rectified signals of two or more channels if you wish.