Sound triggered audio installation

Hello!

I'm working on a sound installation where specific sound would trigger audio. I have no previous experience with arduino and would appreciate if someone knowledgeable could give some pointers. I am extremely eager to learn this!

To be more clear I'd like a specific sound to trigger audio that would be output'd to headphones.

After surfing multiple forums I'm still really lost. Apparently having arduino output audio trough headphones is a bit difficult. So I figured I could have the sound sensor input trigger a program on a computer to play audio, and simply have the headphones connected to the computer. I imagine I could code a program on Processing for that. To have the Arduino pick up on a specific sound only, I'd program it to calculate frequency. I found a freqmeasure library someone used to make Arduino detect a whistle which I planned to modify to detect the sound I'm using.

This setup is pretty much what I want, except with the light being replaced by audio output to headphones.

BUT! I have never done anything with Arduino so even if this plan is plausible I'm really lost. Big help if you could answer these:

• Am I totally off with this plan?
  • If this could work, what parts do I need?
  • How would you do this?

Thank you so much if you decide to help me out!

First: Not really my primary area but since no one else answered yet I give it a shot.