Sparkfun LCD 00709 16x2 - Integrating into my project?

This is the Pinout if the pins are vertical on the left from top to bottom:
PIN1 = tie to gnd
2 = tie to 5v
3 = resistor ~2-3K to gnd
4 = rs = tie to pin 12 on arduino
5 = r/w = tie to gnd
6 = enable = tie to pin 11 on arduino
7-10 = open (no connections)
11 = tie to pin 5 on arduino
12 = tie to pin 4 on arduino
13 = tie to pin 3 on arduino
14 = tie to pin 2 on arduino
15 = tie to 4.2 V (5V is working for me right now)
16 = tie to gnd

(btw im not quite sure what the above pinout means, I got it off of sparkfun's product page)

I'm new to a lot of these components. So, please bare with me.
I'm using an Arduino micro. I have a couple of projects that are using a majority of the digital pins (4-10).
Can I minimize the amount of pins the lcd display uses? It looks like I only have 4-5 digital pins to work with. Does "tie to pin" mean i can put it all on the same row of the bread board and jump it to one pin in the Arduino?

Thanks for your help!
Keith

First of all in a situation like this you should provide a link to the product page and to the data sheet for the device.

The pinout that you have quoted is from the Sparkfun page, but not from Sparkfun, and it is not correct in several respects.
(1) The pins are horizontal at the top, from left to right. This is important since devices with the pins on the bottom sometimes have a nonstandard pinout.

(2) Pin 15 must be connected through a resistor to +5v. The resistor must be large enough to deop about 0.8 volts, leaving about 4.2 v at pin 15. Try 150 ohms and see if it works.

(3) Pin 3 should be connected to the wiper (center connection) of a potentiometer whose ends are connected to +5 and GND. See page 2/9 of the extended datasheet. Many LCDs function adequately with this pin at 0 v which is essentially what connecting it to GND through a resistor accomplishes.

(4) "Tie to pin" means "connect to pin".