Sparkfun LCD Displaying Gibberish

I have an Arduino (168) and am trying to run a SparkFun 16x2 LCD display with it. I have read the tutorial for SparkFun LCD's on the Arduino website, but I can only get the screen to dump characters onto the screen. I am very new to electronics and this sort of programming so any help or a link to a good online tutorial would be very much appreciated. Thanks.

... I can only get the screen to dump characters onto the screen.

What is it you want other than characters on the screen? Maybe I don't understand what you need help doing. Can you be more specific about what you expect to get, compared to what you are getting?

You'll want to use the LiquidCrystal library. A nice tutorial has been setup here:

I should note that the library has been updated but it is not included int the 0016 package, you'll have to manually update the library yourself (drag and drop files, it's easy).

I would not recommend using the old LiquidCrystal library as it has timing issues that were never addressed until recently. I've used both and the new library is a little slower but about 100 times more reliable. The old library has been known (and i've personal had it happen) to throw garbled text on the screen or not putting text on at all.

It's a good tutorial with good examples, give it a look over.

TBAr, the character dump is simply random characters. I can't control what is on the screen, only that weird characters are.

Skinner, the LCD I have is a serial display and the tutorial you showed me, I have seen before, but it is for a parallel display. Any help on getting this serial LCD to work would be appreciated. Thanks.

I don't have one of these, and it's a bit hard to tell without more symptoms, but two things to check come to mind.