Speed confusion

HOW FAST DOES THE ARDUINO DUEMILAMOVE RUN?

Greeting to you all.

I’m a newbie so don’t shout too loud.

I’ve a question too all you experienced Arduino experts concerning the speed of the Arduino Duemilanove.

If I read the datasheets its states that the default speed is 8Mhz from the internal RC sources divided by a prescaler of 8 giving me 1Mhz?

Now if i run a simple program that consist of a FOR loop repeating a Direct Port Access command to the PORTD turning the bit on and then off again then what I’m seeing on my scope doesn’t match with what the datasheet is saying.

The scope is showing a pulse happening with a 120-130ns period at a frequency of 1.446Mhz which would seem to imply that the FOR loop is taking aprox 9 cycles at 62.5ns. (130ns + (9*62.5) = 692.5ns which corresponds with the frequency I’m seeing of 1.446Mhz.

Now if I’m running at 1Mhz as the datasheet implies then I’ve got a processor that’s defying the laws of Physics. Even at 8Mhz I’m getting port access happening in half a cycle, but at 16Mhz the sums seem to add up as shown above.

After reading many of the post on the subject I’m none the wiser so decided the only way to get to the bottom of this is ask the question - What speed is this AD running at out of the box. Is the fact that it came from RS something to do with it, do they replace the bootloader and as such the fuse settings to use the external 16M crystal as standard?

I’m confused and need someone with more knowledge of the ardinuo to straighten me out. Now before you all go crazy and start calling all the names under sun you must realise I haven’t been near anything electronic for 20 years (although it was my first love) other than putting ticks in check boxes for Mr Microsoft so take it easy please. lol. :slight_smile: