Speed LCD DISPLAY

Hi,

I am very new to Arduino, I just received my ARDUINO Starter Kit.

I am planning to create a speed LCD display to display the speed of RC cars on my 1/24 Circuit ( Mini Z if some of you knows).

I do have a 3 meters straight line, i was thinking the best would be to put two lights detectors in the center, 1 meter between each of them.

I don't know if what is provided in the Arduino starter kit would helps.

If some of you could give me a hint on a how to program it.

Thanks,

David

There is more than one "Arduino Starter Kit" out there, so which one do you have? Or rather, if you can not see or read from your content list if you have two lighsensors, then your problem is first to learn (google, wikipedia) what lightsensors you do have (or order two from any of the hobby/arduino shops)

Assuming that is not a problem, you're doing fine: Keep reading the lightsensor one until it is blocked, store the millis() value in a variable and start polling the 2nd sensor until it blocks, subtract the noted millis() value from the current and print the value ( distance/milisdiff to get it as a speed)

Thanks

I bought 2 infrared 950nm emettor and reçeptor to make infrared barriers

They are 10 degrees angle, but i hope it will work with a 60cm gap between emetor and receptor

Could you please help me with the coding lines ?

I will help you to learn :wink:

The first exercise is to verify that your programming enviroment is working. Start the IDE, read in the example Blink sketch, modify it so the LED blinks in a heart rythm - short on, short off, slightly longer on, long off.