Speed Signal Pulse Modification

Hey guys, I'm pretty new to the Arduino but I've been playing with some of the kits and creating setups for applications in my car pretty successfully so far using the basics. But I have a problem with a conversion I'm working on that I'm wondering if I can't use an arduino to solve. There's basically two parts.

I have a digital square wave 0-5v tach signal out of my ECU that feeds an instrument cluster looking for a digital square wave 0-5v signal, but the ECU is sending 6 pulses per rev and the tach is looking for 4 pulses per rev (6 cyl engine conversion into a 4 cyl car). Right now I can directly trigger the tach from the ECU, but it reads 1/3rd fast (engine speed 4000rpm gives a tach reading of 6000rpm). Can anyone point me towards a sketch that will allow me to use pulsein with a 2/3 multiplier? Or is there some other step I need to take?