speed test

Why can’t I make this go faster?

And what’s worse, what is going on with WinVista system that I can’t paste into the forum anymore?

What I want to do is have a bunch of “rows” of 41 bytes sent out as fast as I can.

But it seems anything I try to speed up the SPI.tranfers just slows it down.
I’m monitoring the SS line to watch the performance.

This line here in setup

SPI.setClockDivider(4); <<
SPI.begin();

seems to give the best results, with a transfer burst occurring every 100uS.
If I don’t have it, the default SPI speed is slower, and if I change it to any other number either things don’t work (as in, no transfers)
or runs slower
default, 8,16 - takes ~142uS.

Looks to me like there’s 12uS of slack time I could take advantage of, yet I can’t make it run faster.
Any ideas?

simpletest.ino (1.3 KB)

Unlike you i'm no hardware expert, but what happens if you swapped out the crystal to a 20mhz one?

How much more speed would something like that give you?

CrossRoads:
This line here in setup

SPI.setClockDivider(4); <<
SPI.begin();

You aren’t supposed to use “4”.

See the defines:

#define SPI_CLOCK_DIV4 0x00
#define SPI_CLOCK_DIV16 0x01
#define SPI_CLOCK_DIV64 0x02
#define SPI_CLOCK_DIV128 0x03
#define SPI_CLOCK_DIV2 0x04
#define SPI_CLOCK_DIV8 0x05
#define SPI_CLOCK_DIV32 0x06

When you say “4” you are actually getting SPI_CLOCK_DIV2 which is the fastest the hardware will go. I measured the clock rate at 8 MHz which is the fastest you can get out of it on a 16 MHz chip.

Your line is equivalent to:

SPI.setClockDivider(SPI_CLOCK_DIV2 );

CrossRoads: And what's worse, what is going on with WinVista system that I can't paste into the forum anymore?

I've been having the same problem on-and-off for about six months. Seems to go away with one update then return with the next update. Drives me insane.

CrossRoads: Looks to me like there's 12uS of slack time I could take advantage of, yet I can't make it run faster. Any ideas?