speedsensor-correction

Hi my friends,
I am quite new to arduino, so please be patient with some of my questions, it is just my desire to understand - once you understand, learning gets fun!

I have a scooter, it is a suzuki. It has a Hall-IC as a speedsensor. The frequency ranges from 8Hz @ 1km/h to 1456Hz @180km/h.

Whats the problem?
The speedometer is nearly 10% ahead. I must ride nearly 109-110 to actually reach the speed of 100. I dont like that. For the discussion of my arduino-programming inquiry it does not matter how accurate a reference measurement by tomtom gps is...

Description of my thought:
So I have a pulse at a digital input, and a pause of differing length, and then another pulse... C=L*F
What do I want?
I want to define a correction factor (e.g. 9% or 1,09), and use this to digital output a corrected frequency, which I give back to my speedometer.

Sounds quite simple, but so far I could not get it working. I tried the tone-library and measured by a Oscilloscope. Please guide me how to have a most stable and very fast and accurately responding program. As the actual job is really small I am even considering to finally use a ATtiny...

So the speed meter show a higher speed than you actually ride?
Then the simple solution is to copy every pulse except the 10th. Might just work

void loop()
{
  for (byte i=0; i<9; i++)
  {
    digitalWrite(outPin, HIGH);
    while (digitalRead(inPin) == HIGH);

digitalWrite(outPin, LOW);
    while (digitalRead(inPin) == LOW);
  }
  // skip 10th pulse
  while (digitalRead(inPin) == HIGH);
  while (digitalRead(inPin) == LOW);
}

The speedometer is nearly 10% ahead. I must ride nearly 109-110 to actually reach the speed of 100. I dont like that.

It is a legal requirement that the speedometer must not indicate a speed slower than you are traveling it is normal to give them 10% over. So you have to be very careful not to make your bike illegal.