Split charger for AGM deep cycle battery

I'm looking in to creating a simple split charger for my leisure battery so that when the Van is running I can charge with both the 100watt solar panel and the altenator.

I have a 25V voltage sensor and a 200 amp relay

my question is can I connect the relay line to the main van battery or does it need to feed straight off the altenator?

I don't know a great deal about how electricity works just the basics so not sure if that's effectively the same thing or if there's a difference, I'm just a lowly programmer.

Any help would be greatly appreciated thanks I'll be using a nano for the project btw.

Usually it is better to only charge from one power source at a time. Alternator or solar, not both.

As to exactly where to hook in, that is usually a function of which end of the wire is easiest to reach.

well the battery is under the drivers seat which is much closer to the leisure battery. I have seen lots of people use branded split chargers before surely it wouldn't make a difference as the charger stops charging as soon as the voltage reaches a certain point no?

So it doesn't matter if I connect it straight to the main battery instead of the altenator, would doing that not drain the main battery which I need to start the engine?

MorganS:
Usually it is better to only charge from one power source at a time. Alternator or solar, not both.

As to exactly where to hook in, that is usually a function of which end of the wire is easiest to reach.

Its easier/simpler, not necessarily "better" if you want that battery charged in a hurry!
Charging from multiple sources involves more hardware and more control logic and safeguards, as
there may be issues of overcharging and sharing the load between the power sources sensibly that
are avoided in a simpler setup.

MarkT:
Its easier/simpler, not necessarily "better" if you want that battery charged in a hurry!