Splitting code into different classes and files?

Hello,

I'm new to the Arduino Way in particular, and also C in general, but have done a fair bit of other programming before. My usual way is to split my code into various modules, classes and/or files, depending on the language etc.

I don't know if I'm falling foul of the C syntax for these things, or limitations of the Arduino build process, but I'm stumped at how to split my code into different classes without creating actual libraries.

For starters, I assume I have to have a directory to match the pde file name

C:\Projects\ProjectA\ProjectA.pde

Can I create a bunch of something.h and something.cpp files in that directory and include them? Or in a subdir?

Currently I'm fudging it by creating a subfolder "libraries" and putting them in there, again in a subfolder, and telling the Arduino IDE that my actual root is the current project.

**C:\Projects\ProjectA**ProjectA.pde **C:\Projects\ProjectA\libraries\LibA**LibA.h **C:\Projects\ProjectA\libraries\LibA**LibA.cpp **C:\Projects\ProjectA\libraries\LibB**LibB.h **C:\Projects\ProjectA\libraries\LibB**LibB.cpp

And then in my ProjectA.pde I can do this:

#include "LibA.h"
#include "LibB.h"

LibA something();
LibB somethingElse()

(My full real example is available here)

Cylindric:

Can I create a bunch of something.h and something.cpp files in that directory

Yes. That’s the ticket for “normal” Arduino operation. All .h and .cpp files that are in the same directory as the main sketch .pde file will appear as “tabs” in the Arduino IDE, and you won’t have to fake out Arduino. Arduino will compile and link without having to do anything special