Spot Welder

I am new to the Arduino thingy. Once i checked out a few projects, really impressed with the product. Always thought when it comes to micro-controllers i thought the programming part was all machine language and was not something for an average person. I understand the whole programming part and curious learn to even more. those said so, please bear with me.

So i wanted to do a sketch to control the pulse of a Spot welder via a SSR that i had made from parts from a microwave over. here is what i plan to do

• Add a tactile switch to start the below
  • first pulse that would last 10milliseconds
  • Second pulse that would last 15milliseconds
  • Stop

So below is what i think it should be, can't try the same out as am waiting for my arduino to be delivered.

int Relay = 10;

void setup() {
  pinMode (Relay, OUTPUT);

}

void loop() {
  digitalWrite(Relay, HIGH);
  delay(8);
  digitalWrite(Relay, LOW);
  delay(450);
  delay(10);
  delay(3000);
}

So latter i wish to add a potentiometer to adjust the delay-off time of the SSR. So here again am guessing the below would accomplish it.

int Relay = 10;
int PreWeld = A0;
int Weld = A1;
int PreDelay = 0;
int WeldDelay = 0;

void setup() {
  pinMode (Relay, OUTPUT);
  digitalWrite(Relay,HIGH);
}

void loop() {
  PreDelay = analogRead(PreWeld);
  WeldDelay = analogRead(Weld);
  delay(PreWeld);
  delay(450);
  delay(Weld);
  delay(3000);
}

Could somebody please help me here. Latter am hoping to add a display to show the time value of PreWeld and Weld if its not hard to do.

Do you really want such a slow response to your potentiometer?

The way the program is written at the moment there is a delay of 3.5 (or more) seconds between each reading of the pots. Is that acceptable ?

AWOL: Do you really want such a slow response to your potentiometer?