Square Wave Generator with Variable voltage and frequency

Im still new to this arduino and stuff so i hope u all can help me. I doing a project to generate square wave which the value of the voltage(amplitude) and frequency could be change whenever.

From what i read, digitalWrite only able to get the value to HIGH or LOW, and the frequency is somehow related to the delay.

This is as far as the code that i have done, but i can't seem to get the result i wanted.

int PIN = 13; int pin = 12; int freq,k ,X;

void setup() { pinMode(PIN, OUTPUT); X="value of Voltage"; freq="value of Frequency"; k=(1/2*freq); }

void loop() { int state = 0; int k; //time delay

while(1) { if(state == 0) { analogWrite(PIN,0); state = 1; } else { analogWrite(PIN, X); state = 0; } delay(k); } }

after running the code, this error shown up and i don't know whats wrong.

Arduino: 1.6.7 (Windows 7), Board: "Arduino/Genuino Uno"

Sketch uses 1,302 bytes (4%) of program storage space. Maximum is 32,256 bytes. Global variables use 17 bytes (0%) of dynamic memory, leaving 2,031 bytes for local variables. Maximum is 2,048 bytes. avrdude: ser_open(): can't open device "\.\COM1": The system cannot find the file specified.

Problem uploading to board. See http://www.arduino.cc/en/Guide/Troubleshooting#upload for suggestions.

This report would have more information with "Show verbose output during compilation" enabled in File > Preferences.

nexusIDP: ... the frequency is somehow related to the delay.

Well, you're not wrong there but I think if you are going to tackle a project (or homework?) then I think you could read up a bit more about frequency, amplitude, types of waveform and so on. The fact that you did not even mention PWM indicates a lack of awareness of the topic you are tackling.

And what about your data types? What do think happens when you divide an integer by 2?