Stabilized Model Rocket using Arduino: Project Advice

Hey everyone,

I’m an undergraduate at UCSD who has built a few home made model rockets and is currently in a rocketry club on campus. I’m aware of the risks of this project, and it’s not my intention to build a guided missile; just a stabilized rocket. (SEE EDIT) Disclaimer aside, I’ve decided to attempt a project over winter break where I will design and 3D print a rocket through AutoDesk Inventor.

I would like to stabilize the rocket through rotatable fins controlled through servos mounted on either the back end, where they will point roughly 10% towards the erroneous rotation, being in line with the body when the rocket is stabilized (flying directly upwards); or a second, smaller set of fins mounted on the front end (probably will help with center of mass given weight of servos) that rotate roughly 10% against the erroneous rotation, and be in line with the body when the rocket is stabilized. This will take a considerable amount of precision and rapidity of response.

I have limited exposure to microcontrollers, and would like to know the following: 1.) What controller is best suited for the required calculations, which must be both rapid and precise? I would need to integrate gyroscope and accelerometer data, use this to control 4 seperate servos, and would like to record and locally store altitude data. Is RPi better suited for this? 2.) What sensors would be best suited for this task? I have had a hard time finding a sensor which reliably provides high precision measurements of rotation. Would a seperate gyroscope / accelerometer be best, or an IMU? 3.) What servo motor would be best suited to rapidly respond to the input, while being lightweight?

I understand that with regards to sensors / motors, quality of measurement, weight, and price point will likely be a trade off. I’m willing to spend as much as necessary to get the minimum accuracy in calculations.