Standalone Arduino

I'm just getting into arduino, and I wanted to start moving projects to an individual chip. I'm using a MEGA 2560 board, but that's all I've got. I've got USB-Serial converter if that's of any use.
I just want to get my projects onto a single chip, so I don't have to buy a new arduino for every project.
I could buy a USBasp quite cheap, I guess that's what I'd have to do?
Any help greatly appreciated :%

The closet thing to a single chip may be the Ardweeny kit from Solarbotics.

They are cheap and I've used them successfully.

Why not just use an Atmega328 with its internal 8MHz oscillator? http://arduino.cc/en/Tutorial/ArduinoToBreadboard

I believe you can buy 328s with the bootloader already installed.

...R

Johnny5385 wants to leave them in his project. He still needs the other parts and package the results. I still suggest the Ardweeny or the Pro-Mini clones available on eBay for $6 a piece.

Johnny5385 wants to leave them in his project. He still needs the other parts and package the results. I still suggest the Ardweeny or the Pro-Mini clones available on eBay for $6 a piece.

I'm not sending him to China... not when Newark/Farnell can supply the raw chip. He has a Mega to use for installing the bootloader.

An 8MHz ATmega328P-PU only requires a uC and bypass capacitors, a reset button, and a couple of 1K resistors.

Follow Nick's link, the naked chip is not difficult.

Ray

It all depends on how many projects you intend to build. If a $50 investment in tools and parts is acceptable, it makes sense to go DIY. If not, buy a cheap dev board whenever you need it.