Standalone AVR IO Control - Chip and Programming Questions

Hi all,

This is my first project graduating from normal Arduino programming to using an AVR chip directly. My application is relatively simple (sending commands to the chip to set ports either high or low), but I need between 56 and 62 IO ports, depending on final design decisions.

My current setup roughly copies existing Arduino setups: I send commands over USB to a FT232R chip which then contacts an ATMega2560 via TX and RX and tells it which pins to set low or high. I expect my code to be quite small, as the chip won't be doing many calculations of its own. After trying my best to research the answers to my questions, I have 2 main concerns left:

1. I have recently begun to wonder if I wouldn't be better off with 3 ATMega328p's communicating via SPI/I2C due to the ease of programming them and incorporating into a breadboard. Note that I've only been looking at existing Arduino chips to make things simpler for myself. I will be making 3-4 devices total, so I will be designing this all into a PCB. Are there any recommendations for which chip setup is easier, or for a completely different chip?

2. Initially I was thinking of using AVRstudio and a programmer, but it seems that using the Arduino IDE and Arduino Uno as ISP might be easiest. I have some concerns about using the Arduino IDE though. I don't want to use the Mega pinout, as I want more control over which pins I am using so I don't overload the max current of any port (as outlined in the ATMega2560 datasheet). If I use "port manipulation", will that give me access to all the pins? Are there any other concerns for using the Arduino IDE for a standalone chip? Can an Uno even be used to program an ATMega2560 successfully?

Hopefully that made sense. Thank you!!

1. I have recently begun to wonder if I wouldn't be better off with 3 ATMega328p's communicating via SPI/I2C due to the ease of programming them and incorporating into a breadboard.