standalone beat detection.

hey guys,

I’m brand new to the arduino community, so go easy on me =). While i’ve been waiting for my brand new arduino that i bought off of ebay to arrive, I’ve been dabbling with the arduino language, in particularly, beat detection algorithms. I did some searching on this forum (and elsewhere) and while i realized there are many techniques available for beat detection, not many of them are standalone (most of them require being tethered to a computer or require libraries). Below i’ve included the code that i plan on testing once my arduino arrives. In the meantime, i want to see what the rest of this community thinks, whether it’s functional or not, check the syntax and determine whether I’m on the right path.

UPDATED CODE (8/31/2010) (v2):

/*
      Standalone Music Beat Detector v1.0

This code uses the the 'Simple sound energy algorithm #3' found at GameDev.com 
        (http://www.gamedev.net/reference/programming/features/beatdetection/) to detect high energy
        beats in audio.  This code can be adapted to fit various anolog sources for audio and outputs.

The circuit:
      * Pin 2 will serve as an input for the analog sound data
        * Pin 3 is an undefined output pin (to be updated in later versions...)
        * Pin 4 is an undefined input button (to be updated in later versions...)
      * Pint 13 is an LED that will turn on when a beat is detected and off when not in use

Created 3/8/2010
      By Michael Czigler

Modified 3/8/2010
      Michael Czigler

URL: (tutorial coming soon...)

Frequently Asked Questions:

1. Where did you get the numbers 43 and 256?

I'll try to be brief.  First, 43 is not a number i came up with.  It's just the number of 
        local energy values that the source website for the algorithm chose to store in a history 
        buffer.  256, on the otherhand, is a number that corresponds to the fact that i am using a