Standby home generator controller with timer

Newbie here, got an Arduino starter kit under the Christmas tree so hope to start playing it with soon.
One project I'd like to build is a timer for a standby generator. What I want is when the purchase power goes out is for the generator to wait for 4 hours then start and run for an hour then shut down, and repeat until power is back on. That should keep the refrigerator and freezer cold while we are away on extended trips. I don't want the generator to run continuously while we're away. I can also use a 2 position switch to allow the generator to autostart and run normally when we're home.
I think I can accomplish this using a relay and timer to simulate a power outage/return signal to the generator which will have an automatic transfer switch and autostart features.
Any thoughts?

Certainly possible with an Arduino and a real-time clock. My former company had a commercial backup system similar to what you describe. It is actually a bit more complicated than you suggest.

But first, what type of fuel does the generator use and is it located outside in the weather and what weather extremes can you expect?

Paul

If you are planning for the generator to operate when you are not there to supervise it I think you should get written approval from your house and liability insurers to confirm that that is acceptable to them.

My guess is that it would NOT be acceptable unless the installation is formally approved by some approvals body - which would probably make the whole idea prohibitively expensive.

...R

Haven't bought one yet but it will be natural gas since that is available in our neighborhood and other neighbors have them. It will be outside in south Louisiana so temp is moderate. Mainly I'm concerned about being away during a hurricane event and power being out for a week or two, which has happened before. Don't want a generator running until we can get back.