Start and stop a stepper motor with two photo eyes

Arduino UNO
Hi I am new to coding, i have pieced together code from two different codes and with a lot of time got it to work.
I can not solve the last problem with the code, I will try to explain the best I can.
The code runs a stepper motor with a Analog (10k pot) speed control.
I have two photo eyes, EYE #2 to pin 2 and EYE #3 to pin 3.
When I trip EYE #3 (OFF to ON to OFF) the motor runs, then I trip EYE#2 the motor stops.
But if I trip EYE #3 and hold it on (off to on) then trip EYE #2 the motor will not stop.
What I need is to trip EYE #3 (OFF to ON) the motor will run and then the input for EYE #3 is ignored,
so when I trip EYE #2 the motor will stop, also EYE #2 needs to reset EYE #3 to allow
it to start the motor running for the next cycle. The problem is the EYE #3 is seeing the object when the motor
needs to stop. The EYE #3 is clear of the object when it needs to run the motor again.

[code]
[int spd = A0;

int driverPUL= 7;
boolean running= false;

const int buttonPin2= 2;       // Photo eye 2
const int buttonPin3 =3;       // Photo eye 3

int buttonState2= 0;
int buttonState3=0;
int pd = 500;

void setup() {

pinMode(driverPUL, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(buttonPin2, INPUT);
  pinMode(buttonPin3,INPUT);
    }

void loop() {
  buttonState2= digitalRead(buttonPin2);
  buttonState3= digitalRead(buttonPin3);
  if (buttonState2==HIGH){                  // Photo eye 2 stops stepper motor
     running=true;

}
  if (buttonState3==LOW){                   // Photo eye 3 starts stepper motor
    running= false;

}
  if (running){
    digitalWrite(driverPUL, LOW);

}
  else{
    digitalWrite(driverPUL,LOW);

pd= map ((analogRead(spd)),0,1023,800,100);

digitalWrite (driverPUL, HIGH);
delayMicroseconds (pd);
digitalWrite (driverPUL, LOW);
delayMicroseconds (pd);

}
}  [code]

[/code]