Starting from scratch

I'm a homebrewer and wanted to automate some of the tasks such as keeping my freezer at the perfect temp, Shutting off a gas solenoid to maintain a boil, etc. I thought of getting a Arduino Mega 2560 rev3 with a temp probe and a power tail to control the freezer. My question, is that the route i would go for that or should I seek some other way to do it? I'm new to the microcontroller scene but i'm willing to learn.

Explain problem statement properly.Put some picture of ur setup. What you want to control and what kind of sensor your using.

Sorry for being so vague. The intended use would be to have an ambient temperature from inside of the freezer monitored by a temperature probe such as the dallas then have it report to the contoller which would in turn would trigger a relay or powertail to turn the freezer on or off to maintain a given temperature.

if i rightly understood. you want to trigger relay if temperature exceed particular limit.

Here problem statement is not clear. 1) temperature limit 2) type of sensor being used to measure temperature 3)What is action relay will take means to say where it is connected ?? to what it is connected.??

AMPS-N: if i rightly understood. you want to trigger relay if temperature exceed particular limit.

Here problem statement is not clear. 1) temperature limit 2) type of sensor being used to measure temperature 3)What is action relay will take means to say where it is connected ?? to what it is connected.??

First Thank you for having patience. 1) between 15.5556 celsius and 18.3333 celsius 2) MAX31820 1-Wire Ambient Temperature Sensor http://www.maximintegrated.com/datasheet/index.mvp/id/8130 3)I wanted to use the PowerSwitch Tail II http://www.powerswitchtail.com/Pages/default.aspx

How you want to use below Item I wanted to use the Power Switch Tail II http://www.powerswitchtail.com/Pages/default.aspx Can you put in image file/ block diagram how actual setup look according to you