starting the serial monitor from within the sketch

I've hunted for a solution to the above but can only find references the starting the serial monitor after uploading a sketch.

I auto run a 54MB sketch every day at 06:30 on a Windows 7 computer that is connected to a Mega 2560 over USB.

I would like the serial monitor to start at the same time & output to the computer screen where I can check it later in the morning.

If this isn't possible using the IDE built in serial monitor is there a better serial terminal for Windows I could use that would allow me to perform this operation.

I'm a newbie so the suggestions need to be fairly simple

The Arduino cannot start anything on a PC. You must have a program on the PC that communicates with the Arduino. You should also be aware that when a PC program opens the serial port to connect to an Uno or Mega the Arduino resets. If that is a problem you would have to take steps to prevent it.

...R

I auto run a 54MB sketch

?

Robin2: If that is a problem you would have to take steps to prevent it.

If using a Mega, only Serial port 0 will reset the arduino.

You can easily create a custom program on your computer that will open the serial port to communicate with the arduino and do whatever you want with whatever data. I recommend C# because it's easy to learn and use, also very powerful and well documented.

guix: I recommend C# because it's easy to learn and use, also very powerful and well documented.

I like Python which is also simple to learn and use and, unlike C#, runs on Windows, Mac and Linux.

...R

I’m not sure I made myself clear; my apologies.

Normally, clicking on the serial monitor button from a running sketch would start the serial monitor running.
I assume this manual action of clicking the serial monitor button calls a piece of code so why can’t this be done from within the sketch?

As mentioned earlier, I’m no programmer so suggestions need to be kept simple :slight_smile: