Startup advice on my car-monitoring system?

Hello board. I’m new to Arduino, the board and almost a complete beginner when it comes to electronics. I have nevertheless decided to make an in-car monitoring system (LCD display gauges) and datalogger as my first project. I hoping I can pull this off with the help of this board and some of my friends.

Before I start out i would like to share my ideas with you. I’m hoping this can help me avoid time consuming errors and backtracking later on.

I have bought a nano-board and a 20x4 LCD to serve as a the gauge.
Step 1 will be to simply make the LCD work as a gauge/display.
Step 2 will be to make a datalogger so that i can save the data on a SD card.

Do i need to take the logging into account when writing the code for step 1?

Value Sensor/source Part aquired?
Turbo boost Freemantle MPX4250A yes
Air Fuel Ratio (Wideband) AEM UEGO inline yes
G-forces ADXL330 accelerometer
yes
RPM Coil or engine computer.
DME
Speed Square wave from gear box
Engine Knocks Engine computer.
DME. Very short duration signal
Possible future upgrades
[/tr]

GPS tracking
?
?

[/table]

No, but...

If the data to be logged consists of a string defined by the data that is read from the sensors, that same string could be displayed on the LCD.

Then, for logging, all you would need to do is define a time stamp, append the string that was displayed on the LCD, and write that to the SD card.

Yes, in two areas.

First, you'll really want to use the SPI hardware for writing to the card, rather than "bit-banging" it in software (which is much less efficient). So you'll need to make sure you don't use any of the SPI pins for sensors (this is mostly a hardware design issue, but it may affect the code, too). If any of your sensors have an SPI interface, you'll need to ensure that the code can handle switching between SPI devices.