State Change and acting on length of input

Hey everybody!
I'm new to arduino, but have past coding experience (not so much with C++)
I've been on a crash course for the last 2 days with this and having some fun with the seed relay driver.

Right now I'm trying to get a relay to latch on or off with a quick push of a pushbutton, and I have that much working. I'm trying to get it so that if you hold the button down for more than a second from an OFF to ON condition, then the relay will turn OFF again upon release of the momentary toggle.

I can't seem to get that part of the code working after many different approaches. I'm also trying to figure out an elegant way to expand the code to independently latch/switch additional switch/relay groups. Any help there would be appreciated as well.

/*
  Set a state of a variable when you press a pushbutton ( the
 button went from off to on ).

created 01-12-2009 by kasperkamperman.com
 based on example 'State change detection' by Tom Igoe
 adapted for Seeed Relay Driver
 */

const int buttonPin  = 10;     // the pin that the pushbutton is attached to
const int relayPin    = 7;    // the pin that the relay is attached to

int buttonState      = 0;     // current state of the button
int lastButtonState  = 0;     // previous state of the button
int relayState         = 0;     // remember current relay state
unsigned long startTime = 0;

void setup() {
  pinMode(buttonPin, INPUT);  // initialize the button pin as a input
  pinMode(relayPin, OUTPUT);    // initialize the button pin as a output
}

void loop() {
  // read the pushbutton input pin
  buttonState = digitalRead(buttonPin);

// check if the button is pressed or released
  // by comparing the buttonState to its previous state
  if (buttonState != lastButtonState) {

// change the state of the relay when someone presses the button
    if (buttonState == 1) {
      startTime = millis();
      if(relayState == 1) {
        relayState=0;
      } 
      else {